Introduction

The restaurant is situated a short distance from the city centre, near to the ring road, so it is easily accessible for those who come by motorway. In front of the restaurant lays the ‘Citadelpark’, one of the greenest areas of the city of Artevelde. In this park, you can visit the Museum for Contemporary Art, the ‘SMAK’.

JAN AND MARIE-PAULE VAN DEN BON, who were charmed by the location, the style, but most of all, by the lovely town garden of this town house, moved in in October 1986. The guests can have a nice view of this garden while dining.

The interior was decorated with deep blue and warm shades of orange to complement the abundance of green in the garden and preserve the original features. Paintings from José Chapelier, the painter from ‘Liège’ and pupil of Slabbinck, adorn the restaurant’s walls. Both this painter and Jan are daringly creative; the former with the vibrancy of colours, the latter with vibrant flavours. Jan can be as aggressive in combining flavours as José was when painting his canvasses. The sensual colour orchestra of the works create a charming atmosphere.

Jan and Marie-Paule’s ultimate desire is to create a characteristic cosiness that reveals itself in every aspect of the restaurant; the interior, the garden, the cuisine, the wine and certainly in the service. Marie-Paule, Jan’s wife, is French and comes from Dijon. She particularly pays attention to the details of the service and her natural spontaneity is part of the pleasant, smooth and relaxed atmosphere that reigns in the restaurant. As the hostess, she makes sure that the guests are given a warm welcome. After all, going out for dinner is in the first place a convivial event. Your feeling welcome is of the utmost importance to them.

CONTACT

Restaurant Jan Van den Bon
Koning Leopold II laan 43
9000 Gent

T.: 09 221 90 85
F.: 09 245 08 92
info@janvandenbon.be

MEANS OF PAYMENT

Maestro
Mastercard
Visa
Amex

CLOSING TIMES

The restaurant is closed on
Saturday for lunch, Sunday and Monday

HOTELS NEARBY

HOTEL HARMONY
(15 min on foot)
Kraanlei 37, 9000 Gent
T.: 09 324 26 80
www.hotel-harmony.be

THE HAMPTONS
(2 min. on foot)
boutique B&B
Kortrijksesteenweg 172, 9000 Gent
T.:+32 471 34 08 85
www.thehamptons.be

PILLOWS GRAND HOTEL REYLOF
(20 min. on foot)
Hoogstraat 36, 9000 Gent
T.:+32 9 235 40 70
www.pillowshotels.com

ENTRENOUS  B&B
(2 min. on foot)
Filips van Marnixstraat 26, 9000 Gent
T.:+32 9 273 95 60
http://www.entrenousbb.be

THE VERHAEGEN B&B
(20 min. on foot)
Oude Houtlei 110, 9000 Gent
T.: +32 9 265 07 60
http://www.theverhaegen.com

Introduction

Le restaurant est situé face au Parc de la Citadelle, l’espace vert de la ville d’Artevelde, où se trouve également le musée d’art contemporain, le Smak. A deux pas du centre ville et le long du périphérique de Gand, donc facile d’accès pour ceux qui sortent de l’autoroute.

JAN ET MARIE-PAULE VAN DEN BON s’y sont installés en octobre 1986, enchantés par l’emplacement et le style de la maison de maître, mais surtout par le magnifique jardin de ville sur lequel les clients ont une vue imprenable depuis la salle.

L’intérieur a été aménagé de façon sobre et épuré tout en préservant l’authenticité de la propriété .Des teintes comme le bleu profond et l’orange chaleureux y font un beau contraste avec la verdure abondante du jardin. Les grands pans de murs sont habillés par des peintures à l’huile de l’artiste liégeois José Chapellier, élève de Slabbinck. Les deux hommes sont audacieux dans leurs créations, l’un dans les couleurs et l’autre dans les goûts. Jan se montre parfois aussi agressif dans les saveurs que José l’est avec les coloris de ses toiles. Les œuvres génèrent une atmosphère de bien- être avec des couleurs vives et harmonieuses.

Créer cet agrément s’avère l’ultime accomplissement de Jan et Marie-Paule. Et ceci sous toutes ses facettes, que ce soit dans l’intérieur, le jardin, la cuisine, le vin ou le service. Marie-Paule, l’épouse de Jan ,est française et originaire de Dijon .Grâce à sa spontanéité innée elle fait régner ce style naturel et aisé en salle toute en gardant un oeil vigilant sur les détails. Le client doit se sentir personnellement accueilli car aller au restaurant est surtout un évènement convivial et Marie-Paule en fait un point d’honneur. C’est la plus-value qu’on offre ici.

CONTACT

Restaurant Jan Van den Bon
Koning Leopold II laan 43
9000 Gent

T.: 09 221 90 85
F.: 09 245 08 92
info@janvandenbon.be

CARTES DE CREDIT

Maestro
Mastercard
Visa
Amex

JOURS DE FERMETURES

Le restaurant est fermé le
samedi midi, le dimanche, le lundi et les jours fériés

HOTELS IN DE BUURT

HOTEL HARMONY
(15 min à pieds)
Kraanlei 37, 9000 Gent
T.: 09 324 26 80
www.hotel-harmony.be

THE HAMPTONS
(2 min. à pieds)
boutique B&B
Kortrijksesteenweg 172, 9000 Gent
T.:+32 471 34 08 85
www.thehamptons.be

PILLOWS GRAND HOTEL REYLOF
(20 min. à pieds)
Hoogstraat 36, 9000 Gent
T.:+32 9 235 40 70
www.pillowshotels.com

ENTRENOUS  B&B
(2 min. à pieds)
Filips van Marnixstraat 26, 9000 Gent
T.:+32 9 273 95 60
http://www.entrenousbb.be

THE VERHAEGEN B&B
(20 min. à pieds)
Oude Houtlei 110, 9000 Gent
T.: +32 9 265 07 60
http://www.theverhaegen.com